Dog Walker/Pet Sitter

Berkshire boondogs - Pittsfield, MA (30+ days ago)

Full-time

I have a very successful dog hiking adventure and dog sitting business and am looking for someone to cover me while I take a few months off to finish my masters and acquire a new facility. This is a live-in position. Duties will include picking up dogs, taking them into the woods and walking them (many are off-leash) for pack walks then returning them to their homes as well as feeding the dogs at the house and letting them in and out. This is a full time position. I currently have someone to cover weekends, so the job will be M-F. Your pay is based on the number of dogs you walk. There are three vehicle available for dog duties and which may be used for personal use. Varies greatly. Business expenses will come out of the money made on the dogs, and will include car insurance, the phone bill, gas and car repairs. Even with all that, I make anywhere between $300 and $800 a week and work 30-70 hours. The business covers most of your expenses, including rent, vehicles, phone, even clothing for walking. It does not cover your food and personal gas, fancy shoes and hats, etc.

Experience with dogs is required! I will train you to do my job, but you must already be familiar with dog behavior, and not just "pet" behavior. You must know how to break up a dog fight, and what to do if a dog runs away from you, and what to do if a dog is picking on the other dogs, and what to do if you have an aggressive dog, or a fearful dog. You must already know how to be alpha. I will be available for consults and for extra days off, or whatever else is needed (the dog business is 24/7/365). I will just not be working full time.

I need someone who is reliable and a self starter. Someone who can do their job without me hovering over them. After I have a new facility, the job will change, but I will still need a full time dog walker, and will pay well. You will be surrounded by dogs. I expect you to watch TV with dogs, and sleep with dogs, and hang out with dogs. I have great dogs!! They will love you to pieces. And I expect you to treat them like one of the family.

Absolutely no drug or alcohol abuse will be tolerated. No marijuana smokers. NO EXCEPTIONS!! No smoking of any kind in my house. I have lost several previous employees because of their habits. Not going through that again. You will need to pass a CORY check. Looking for someone who likes to work and takes pride in what they accomplish. Creativity is a plus.

Job Type: Full-time

Experience:

  • Professional dog service: 1 year (Required)